Mathura Refinery was commissioned in 1982 with a capacity of 6.0 MMTPA to meet the demand of petroleum products in north western region of the country, which includes National Capital Region. Refinery is located along the Delhi-Agra National Highway about 154 km away from Delhi.

The major secondary processing units provided were Fluidised Catalytic Cracking Unit (FCCU), Vis-breaker Unit (VBU) and Bitumen Blowing Unit (BBU). The original technology for these units was sourced from erstwhile USSR, UOP etc. Soaker drum technology of EIL was implemented in VBU in the year 1993.

For production of unleaded Gasoline, Continuous Catalytic Reforming Unit (CCRU) was commissioned in 1998 with technology from Axens, France. A Diesel Hydro Desulphurisation Unit (DHDS) licensed from Axens, France was commissioned in 1999 for production of HSD with low Sulphur content of 0.25% wt (max). With the commissioning of Once Through Hydrocracker Unit (licensed from Chevron, USA) in July 2000, capacity of Mathura Refinery was increased to 8.0 MMTPA.