Wed, Dec 13, 2017

West Bengal has five distribution licensees - WBSEDCL, CESC, DPL, DPSC and DVC. All five distribution utilities have their own power generation plants or sources.

The process of reforms in power sector in West Bengal began in 2005, with restructuring of erstwhile West Bengal State Electricity Board (WBSEB) into the Transmission and Distribution utilities in 2007:

  • West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. (WBSEDCL) - Distribution Company
  • West Bengal State Electricity Transmission Company Ltd. (WBSETCL) - Transmission Company

The generation function of erstwhile state utility has been organized under a separate entity, West Bengal Power Development Corporation Ltd. (WBPDCL). Established in 1985, WBPDCL is responsible for thermal power generation in the State, while hydro generation was being undertaken by the then WBSEB till the time of unbundling and currently transferred of hydro assets to WBSEDCL.

The State regulatory commission, West Bengal State Electricity Regulatory Commission (WBERC) was established in 1999.

Login to download from the knowledge base. To get instant login access, join as a premium member.