The Union Territory of Puducherry comprises of four regions - Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam. Puducherry Electricity Department performs the functions of transmission and distribution of electric power to the Union Territory.

Puducherry has only one gas based generating plant of 32.5 MW capacity at Karaikal and meets the most of the demand through allocation from Central Generating Stations. The sole generating station in Puducherry is a 32.5 MW combined cycle gas power plant in Karaikal owned by the Puducherry Power Corporation Limited.