Lakshadweep is the tiniest union territory of India and is only coral island chain in the country. This archipelago consists of 36 islands including 12 atolls, 3 reefs and 5 submerged banks.

Electrification of Lakshadweep Islands was initiated during the Second Five Year Plan. Minicoy was the first island electrified in 1962 followed by Kavaratti Island in 1964, then Amini and Andrott in 1965 and 1966 respectively. Bitra was the last island electrified in 1982.

Lakshadweep Electricity Department generates and distributes electricity to consumers round the clock in the entire Lakshadweep Islands. The power sector of state is regulated by Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission (JERC) for the State of Goa and Union Territories.