The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) notified new environmental norms for Thermal Power Plants on 7 December 2015 and 28 June 2018.

1. TPPs (units) installed before 31st December, 2003

Particulate Matter: 100 mg/Nm3

Sulphur Dioxide (SO2): 600 mg/Nm3 for units less than 500 MW capacity; 200 mg/Nm3 for units 500 MW and above capacity

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx): 600 mg/Nm3

Mercury: 0.03 mg/Nm3 (for unit size 500 MW and above)

2. TPPs (units) installed after 31st December 2003 and upto 31st December 2016

Particulate Matter: 50 mg/Nm3

Sulphur Dioxide (SO2): 600 mg/Nm3 for units less than 500 MW capacity; 200 mg/Nm3 for units 500 MW and above capacity

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx): 300 mg/Nm3

Mercury: 0.03 mg/Nm3

3. TPPs (units) installed from 1st January 2017

Particulate Matter: 30 mg/Nm3

Sulphur Dioxide (SO2): 100 mg/Nm3

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx): 100 mg/Nm3

Mercury: 0.03 mg/Nm3

To ensure uninterrupted power supply position in the country, a phased implementation plan (to be implemented before 2022) for installation of Flue Gas De-Sulphurization (FGD) in plants for a capacity of 1,61,402 MW (414 Units) and upgradation of Electrostatic Precipitator in plants for a capacity of 64,525 MW (222 units) was prepared by Central Electricity Authority (CEA) in consultation with the stakeholders and this plan was submitted to MoEF&CC on 13 October, 2017. The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has issued directions to Thermal Power Plants to ensure compliance as per the plan prepared by CEA.