Nuclear Power Plants

Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) is responsible for design, construction, commissioning and operation of nuclear power reactors. NPCIL is presently operating 22 commercial nuclear power reactors with an installed capacity of 6,780 MW.

There are 9 reactors with a capacity of 6,700 MW (including 500 MW PFBR being implemented by BHAVINI) under construction. In 2017, the Government has accorded administrative approval and financial sanction of 12 nuclear power plants totalling to a capacity of 9000 MW. On their progressive completion, the installed nuclear capacity is expected to reach 22,480 MW by 2031.

Tarapur Atomic Power Station (TAPS) is located in Tarapur, Palghar, in Maharashtra. It is the first commercial nuclear power station built in India. It was constructed in 1969 initially with two boiling water reactor (BWR) of 160 MW each. Additional two pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) units of 540 MW each were constructed in 2006.

The Rajasthan Atomic Power Station (RAPS) is located at Rawatbhata in Rajasthan, India. The present installed capacity of RAPS is 1180 MW (comprising of Units 1 to 6) will be increased to 2580 MW on completion of units 7 & 8 of 700 MW units presently under construction at the site. The units are expected to be completed by 2019.

Madras Atomic Power Station (MAPS) is located at Kalpakkam, about 80 kilometres south of Chennai, in Tamil Nadu. It has two units each generating 220 MW of electricity. The first and second units of the station went critical in 1983 and 1985 respectively.

The Kudankulam site, presently, has two reactors - KKNPP 1 & 2 (2 x 1000 MW) in operation and two reactors, KKNPP 3 & 4 (2 x 1000 MW) under construction. In addition, work for setting up two more units - KKNPP 5 & 6 (2 x 1000 MW) at this site has commenced.

Presently excavation is in progress in Gorakhpur Haryana Anu Vidyut Pariyojana (GHAVP) Units - 1 and 2 (2 x 700 MW) at an advanced stage. Orders have been placed for long delivery equipment like End shields and Steam Generators. The Main Plant Civil Work and several other packages are at various stages of tendering.

The Jaitapur site was accorded ‘in principle’ approval for setting up six Light Water Reactors of 1650 MW each in cooperation with France. Pre-project activities comprising of land acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (R&R), obtaining statutory clearances, site investigations and site infrastructure development were taken up.

The Government has accorded ‘In-Principle’ approval for setting up six units of Light Water Reactors (LWRs) in cooperation with the USA at Kovvada in Srikakulam district of Andhra Pradesh. The project comprises of six units of 1208 MW each, to be set in a sequential manner.