The total length of LPG pipeline network in India is 8,296 km comprising of the following pipelines:

  1. Panipat-Jalandhar LPG Pipeline (Length: 280 km)

  2. Paradip-Haldia-Durgapur LPG pipeline (Length: 673 km); Extension of pipeline to Patna and Muzaffarpur results in total length of 918 km

  3. Ennore-Trichy-Madurai LPG pipeline (Length: 615 km)

  4. Kandla-Gorkhpur LPG pipeline (Length: 2757 km)

  5. Jamnagar-Loni LPG pipeline (Length: 1414 km)

  6. Vizag-Secunderabad LPG pipeline (Length: 621 km)

  7. Mangalore-Hassan-Mysuru-Yediyuru LPG pipeline (Length: 356 km)

  8. Uran-Chakan / Shikrapur LPG pipeline (Length: 168 km)

  9. Hassan-Cherlapally LPG pipeline (Length: 680 km)

  10. Mumbai-Uran LPG pipeline (Length: 29 km)

  11. Kochi-Coimbatore-Salem LPG pipeline (Length: 458 km)

LPG pipelines are laid from refineries to LPG bottling plants usually situated outside the city limits. Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB) established under the PNGRB Act, 2006 in the year 2007 is the authority to grant authorization for laying of LPG pipelines. Entities that propose to lay, build, operate or expand a pipeline apply to the Board for obtaining an authorisation under this Act.