In order to ensure uninterrupted power supply position in the country, a phased implementation plan (to be implemented by 2022) for installation of Flue Gas De-Sulphurization (FGD) for control of SOx, in plants for a capacity of 1,61,402 MW (414 Units) and upgradation of Electrostatic Precipitator for control of Particulate Matter (PM), in plants for a capacity of 64,525 MW (222 Units) was prepared by Central Electricity Authority (CEA) in consultation with the stakeholders and this plan was submitted to MoEF&CC on 13 October, 2017.

The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has issued directions to Thermal Power Plants to ensure compliance as per the plan prepared by CEA.

The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) has notified the new environment norms for coal based Thermal Power Plants (TPPs) on 7 December, 2015 and 28 June, 2018 categorizing TPPs with respect to date of installation in three categories as follows:

  1. TPPs (units) installed before 31st December, 2003.

  2. TPPs (units) installed after 31st December, 2003 and upto 31st December, 2016.

  3. TPPs (units) to be installed from 1st January, 2017.